E-Day.

I failed. I totally blew my intentions of posting every day this month, but to be honest, I just haven’t had a chance. I don’t feel too bad about it though, its taught me that I don’t want blogging to become an obligation, and I do feel that I post better when I post because I’ve thought of something to write, not when I’m having to make a concerted effort to come up with something. So there you go, I apologise to the NaBloPoMo peeps, but I gave it a go.

Tomorrow is D-Day. Or should I say E-Day. Because, between 7am and 1pm is when our exercise bike arrives. And then the work begins. I’m actually looking forward to it. I think my body has been trying to tell me to exercise lately, I’ve been staying awake later and later at night and having weird dreams about running marathons, so it can’t come too soon.

It does also mean, though, that tomorrow will be the day that I announce my stats to the world, and that’s harder to stomach (pardon the pun) than all the hard work that I know I’m going to have to do. I’m going to try to ease myself into the exercise, I’m going to start by doing 30 minutes a day for the first week, then increase it by 15 minutes the next week until I’m doing an hour a day. Ambitious, maybe, but not impossible, I don’t think. I also need to start eating less, which I think will be the biggest challenge of all.

I’ve given myself a goal though, my Mum and I are going to do the Race for Life for Cancer Research on 8th May, so I want to at least be fit enough that I could attempt to jog the 5km. I’m not going to tell myself that I’ll be fit enough to run it by then as I have a long way to go with my fitness, but anything above walking pace will be an achievement! We’re going to be walking for my Mum’s beautiful friend Denise, who sadly left us last year, and Husband’s wonderful Uncle, Rob, who also passed mid-2010. We want to do something positive, in their memory, in the hope that we can help other people with this most evil of diseases. If any of you would like to run, you can find details of your local events here. Also, if any of you live in my local area, we’re taking part in the event at Garon Park in Southend on Sea, Essex, let me know if you’re interested in forming a posse of fundraisers, or just coming along and cheering for us at the end!

I’m sure I will be begging for your money later in the year, but if anyone would like to sponsor me or my Mum, let me know and I’ll pass on the details. So, wish me luck, the next time I post, I’ll be in possession of my new bike, and hopefully on the first step toward a healthier, fitter, and ultimately happier future. Sounds well worth it, when I put it like that, doesn’t it?

2 responses to “E-Day.”

  1. Oh God, rather you than me! I’m rubbish at exercise

  2. […] sometimes, a company can treat you so badly that you just have to talk about it. You may remember this post back in January about how I’ve been trying to improve my health with diet and exercise and […]

Leave a comment